And the Winners Are...

Who are the best in finance? Presenting the winners of the 2001 CFO Excellence Awards.


Welcome to this year's gallery of excellence.

The nine CFOs profiled on the next few pages hail from companies as diverse as Goldman Sachs, General Mills, and Hilton Hotels. But they share a common bond: They are all winners of the 2001 CFO Excellence Awards, sponsored by CFO magazine and Andersen.

"These CFOs, supported by their finance teams, have earned this recognition for what they have achieved for their organizations," says Andersen partner Gary T. Moran. "Each one has broken through the traditional boundaries of finance and created value in innovative ways. In doing so, they deserve to be recognized as Chief Value Officers as much as excellent CFOs."

Members of the 2001 gallery include:(click on a winners name to read the profile.)

Daniel E. Berce
of AmeriCredit Corp., for Capital Structure Management

Andy Bryant
of Intel Corp., for Finance Transformation in the Internet Era

Robert C. Gray
of Highmark Inc., for Turnaround Management

Matthew Hart
of Hilton Hotels Corp., for Deal- Making and Integration

James A. Lawrence
of General Mills Inc., for Finance Leadership, Development, and Training

Chris A. Lewis
of Jabil Circuit Inc., for Planning and Performance Management

Kenneth E. Lonchar
of Veritas Software Corp., for Managing External Stakeholders

William A. Longbrake
of Washington Mutual Inc., for Driving Revenue Growth

David A. Viniar
of Goldman Sachs & Co., for Risk Management

They were chosen from a distinguished pool of 45 finalists by a panel of judges, who deserve our thanks: Bruce Edwards, president and CEO of Powerwave Technologies Inc.; Larry Kellner, president of Continental Airlines Inc.; E. Peter McLean, vice chairman (U.S.) of SpencerStuart Inc.; John B. Menzer, president and CEO of Wal-Mart Stores Inc., International Division; Nell Minow, editor of The Corporate Library; Frank E. Weise III, president and CEO of Cott Corp.; and Julia Homer, editor-in-chief of CFO magazine.

The winners are truly masters in the art of corporate finance.


Read next:

Finance At BeyondCore